Guggenheim Museum Nixes Intently Watched $100,000 Hugo Boss Prize –


The Guggenheim Museum in New York will not award the distinguished Hugo Boss Prize, the museum informed ARTnews Friday. The closely-followed biannual award has increased the profile of a lot of artists and springs with a $100,000 financial prize and continuously an exhibition on the museum.

The Hugo Boss Prize used to be established in 1996 by means of the Guggenheim Museum in partnership with the rage emblem Hugo Boss to honor “exceptional fulfillment in fresh artwork, celebrating the paintings of exceptional artists whose practices are some of the maximum cutting edge and influential of our time,” in step with the museum’s website online.

Comparable Articles

In an archival photo, a person

The award has been given to 13 artists since its founding and it has catapulted artists already on the best of the sport to even additional heights within the artwork international. The winners for the prize had been Matthew Barney (1996), Douglas Gordon (1998), Marjetica Potrč (2000), Pierre Huyghe (2002), Rirkrit Tiravanija (2004), Tacita Dean (2006), Emily Jacir (2008), Hans-Peter Feldmann (2010), Danh Vo (2012), Paul Chan (2014), Anicka Yi (2016), Simone Leigh (2018), and Deana Lawson (2020). Lawson’s win, introduced in October 2020, used to be regarded as main on the time as she used to be the primary photographer to win the award.

Every of the ones artists used to be decided on from a shortlist of different artists. The ones rosters had been continuously star-studded, together with artists like Cecilia Vicuña, Kevin Beasley, Cai Guo Qiang, Laurie Anderson, Maurizio Cattelan, Vito Acconci, Tino Sehgal, Damián Ortega, Patty Chang, Camille Henrot, Laura Owens, Wu Tsang, Teresa Margolles, and Ralph Lemon, who used to be introduced because the winner of the Whitney Museum’s $100,000 Bucksbaum award previous this week.

Simply as with the artists, the jury for the prize through the years has been similarly star-studded, with probably the most international’s maximum influential curators making the overall choice, together with Bisi Silva, Hans-Ulrich Obrist, Okwui Enwezor, Robert Rosenblum, Christopher Y. Lew, and Naomi Beckwith, the not too long ago appointed leader curator of the Guggenheim. The museum’s former creative director and leader curator Nancy Spector chaired the jury for every version of the prize.

When requested by means of ARTnews when the following awarding of the prize can be given, a spokesperson for the Guggenheim Museum mentioned, “The Hugo Boss Prize will not proceed. The Solomon R. Guggenheim Basis is venerated to have collaborated with HUGO BOSS for the reason that Prize’s inception in 1996, to award artists who include these days’s maximum cutting edge and severely related cultural currents.”

A request from ARTnews for additional main points from the museum used to be now not returned; ARTnews has additionally reached out to Hugo Boss.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this