Blake Snell, Gerrit Cole take house Cy Younger Award


On Wednesday night time the American League and Nationwide League Cy Younger awards have been passed out to their respective winners. After a season stuffed with adjustments in prefer of the hitter, those two pitchers proved that they might nonetheless dominate opposing batters regardless of the guideline set. 

Listed here are the Cy Younger award recipients in 2023. 

Nationwide League Cy Younger Award: Blake Snell, San Diego Padres, pitcher

2023 stats: 14-9, 2.25 ERA, 1.19 WHIP, 234 SO in 180 innings pitched

Changing into best the 7th participant in MLB historical past to win each the AL and NL Cy Younger Awards, the 30-year-old Snell was once dominant at the mound in 2023.

After a season wherein he now not best led the MLB in each ERA and H/9, he additionally led the league in walks allowed. Even with the entire unfastened bases issued through Snell, they hardly got here again to harm him as he was once a strikeout gadget with opposing hitters not able to make blank touch in opposition to him.

Snell was once additionally lights-out post-All-Celebrity wreck, going 8-2 with a 1.54 ERA and placing out 102 hitters in 82 innings pitched. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this